What is South-South Cooperation?

South-South cooperation (SSC) is about developing countries working together to find solutions to common development challenges. Linked by similarities in their development contexts and challenges, the countries of the South have been increasingly active in sharing knowledge, exchanging technologies and forming common agenda and collective actions. South-South cooperation and its agenda have to be set by countries of the South and should continue to be guided by the principles of respect for national sovereignty, national ownership and independence, equality, non-conditionality, non-interference in domestic affairs and mutual benefit.

In 1974, the United Nations General Assembly, in its resolution 3251 (XXIX), endorsed the establishment of a special unit within the United Nations Development Programme – United Nations Office for South-South Cooperation (UNOSSC) – to promote technical cooperation among developing countries and to enhance local capacity in developing countries by supporting local capabilities, institutions, expertise and human resources and national systems, where appropriate, in contribution to national development priorities, at the request of developing countries.

What are countries of the Global South?

The term “South”or “Global South” refers to developing countries, which are located primarily in the Southern Hemisphere. The Global South includes Asia (with the exception of Japan, Hong Kong, Macau, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan), Central America, South America, Mexico, Africa, and the Middle East (with the exception of Israel).

The Governing Bodies of South-South Cooperation in the United Nations:

1. High-level Committee on South-South Cooperation

The main policymaking body on South-South cooperation (SSC) in the United Nations system.
2. General Assembly

Established in 1945 under the Charter of the United Nations, the General Assembly occupies a central position as the chief deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the United Nations.
3. The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) was established under the United Nations Charter as the principal organ to coordinate economic, social and related work of the 14 UN specialized agencies, functional commissions, and five regional commissions.
4. UNDP/UNFPA Executive Board

The Executive Board of UNDP and UNFPA, comprised of 36 members, was created by UN General Assembly resolution 48/162 of 20 December 1993. The Executive Board superseded the 48-member Governing Council on 1 January 1994.